British food rules

IMG_2503                 IMG_2423       IMG_2595

Before I came here, people told me that British food is mostly fish and chips, bangers and mash, and crumpets.  Unlike our silly American pretenses, British food RULES.  Due to all of the different colonies that the Empire established,  England is quite the melting pot.  So far I have tried Indian, Thai, Chinese and Italian food here…and I won’t say that I’ve only had five-star cuisine but it’s pretty good.  My friend Carl says a major difference between American and British is that food tastes better and fresher.  I have to say that I agree with him and here’s an increasing list of why flavors really shine here/ eating healthy food is easier:

  • organic farming, free-range animals and less preservatives: the Brits really pride themselves on doing the right thing for the environment and animals.  After having processed American food, it’s nice to know that most of our food here comes farm to table.
  • shorter shelf life and smaller refrigerators: the Mr. thinks that it forces us to buy more groceries more often and thus buy smaller amounts of food, more frequently
  • spices: the chefs here really know how to make the most of flavors like curry, salt, malt vinegar and brown sauce.   I came here thinking that ketchup was the only major condiment food needed, but the more I try new food, the more accepting I become of new flavors.
  • the only ethnic food I haven’t tried is: Latino/ Mexican.  I heard there’s a Chipotle in Cambridge/ London but it’s the only demographic that we have in America that Brits haven’t tried to conquer.
  • less restaurants that deliver: delivery is usually free but due to the distance in villages, ordering pizza to arrive at the house is less likely to happen
  • portion control: a popular snack I enjoy are “crisps” or potato chips.  I like that my favorite Sunbites come in individual bags instead of a large bag.  I usually can eat half a huge bag, but it’s easier to say no, when everything is packaged to the size one is “supposed” to eat.
  • take-away / “to-go” food is uncommon: their portions are smaller for take-away and/ or most restaurants don’t have to-go food as an option. Most food is eaten in-house and usually fresher
    • Note to self: some places don’t even have “take-away” boxes, so don’t always assume it’s an option at the end of the meal. better yet: just order what you think you can finish, and not with the intent of a doggy bag

Waste not, want not,

thetanbunny

One thought on “British food rules

Leave a Reply

